Institut für
Kunstdokumentation und
Szenografie
Navigation

News:

"Changing States: Ireland" opens at Haus am Kleistpark

Collaboration with Photo Museum Ireland and IKS PHOTO

Changing States: Ireland in the 21st Century

Contemporary photography from Ireland

7 June – 11 August 2024
 

„Changing States: Ireland in the 21st Century“ is the first major group exhibition to use the medium of photography to highlight and make visible the changes in Irish life. It focuses on the first decades of the 21st century, which marks the 100th anniversary of the founding of the state. The exhibition presents 34 contemporary artists at Haus am Kleistpark, providing an overview of the development of contemporary photography in Ireland for the first time.

Curated by Trish Lambe, Darren Campion and Ralph Goertz

 

The exhibition was organised as part of Zeitgeist Ireland 24, an initiative of Culture Ireland and the Irish Embassy in Germany. Curated by Trish Lambe, Darren Campion (Photo Museum Ireland) and Ralph Goertz (IKS PHOTO).

 

Kenneth O'Halloran, Robert Ellis, Anthony Haughey, Lorraine Tuck

 

John Duncan, Enda Bowe

WDR Westart visits UK WOMEN


Anke Rebbert has dedicated a wonderful contribution to the UK WOMEN exhibition on WDR Westart. Thank you very much!

 

Westart broadcast

 

UK WOMEN opens on 25 May at Ludwiggalerie Oberhausen

UK WOMEN

British photography between social criticism and identity

28 women photographer from the United Kingdom

Ludwiggalerie Oberhausen

26 May - 15 Sept. 2024


On 25 May at 7 pm the new exhibition UK WOMEN by IKS PHOTO opens in cooperation with the LUDWIGGALERIE Schloss Oberhausen and presents extraordinary female power from the United Kingdom. The exhibition "UK WOMEN. British photography between social criticism and identity" will be presented for the first time in Germany with works by 28 female photographers from three generations.

In an overview from classic documentary photography from the 1970s to an individual artistic view and the processing of current topics such as origin, community, gender identity or social criticism, the exhibition shows 220 works from 29 series, curated by Ralph Goertz, director of the IKS.


We cordially invite you to the opening on Saturday, 25 May 2024 at 7 pm!

 

IKS at Kunstmuseen Krefeld

Artist talk by Ralph Goertz with Joachim Brohm

House Esters, Krefeld

 

On 4.4.2024 at 7 pm an artist talk between Ralph Goertz and the renowned photo artist Joachim Brohm will take place at Haus Esters in Krefeld. As part of "More Mies: Kunstimpuls", Joachim Brohm will present his new book project LESSMORE, which has been published as an edition by his self-publishing house BR-ED .

 

NNG Berlin by DCA 2 © Joachim Brohm

Two new exhibitions in summer 2024

Cooperations with the Ludwiggalerie Schloss Oberhausen, the Haus am Kleistpark and the Photo Museum Ireland

 


The year 2024 starts with two exhibitions dedicated to contemporary photography in the United Kingdom and Ireland.

UK WOMEN. British Photography between Social Criticism and Identity traces the history of photography in the United Kingdom since the 1970s through 28 women photographers. With strong themes such as social criticism, migration, gender identity, community, role stereotypes and diversity, they have been campaigning for equal rights since the 1970s, but also for their own artistic language. In cooperation with Ludwiggalerie Schloss Oberhausen (opening on 25 May 2024).


CHANGING STATES: Ireland in the 21st century. Contemporary photography from Ireland is a major new group exhibition that looks at the ways photography has made visible the changing nature of Irish life. Featuring works by over 40 contemporary artists, this large-scale exhibition surveys the development of contemporary photography in Ireland. In cooperation with the Haus am Kleistpark Berlin, the Photo Museum Ireland and the Irish Embassy in Germany as part of "Zeitgeist Irland24".


Both exhibitions are curated by Ralph Goertz and demonstrate the strengths of institutional cooperation as well as the universality of political and social issues in Europe.

Ludwiggalerie Schloss Oberhausen and IKS PHOTO starting cooperation
First exhibition project scheduled for May 2024


We are very happy to announce that the director of Ludwiggalerie Schloss Oberhausen, Dr. Christine Vogt, and Ralph Goertz, director of IKS PHOTO, have agreed on a cooperation in 2024. The first joint exhibition project "UK WOMEN. British Photography between Social Criticism and Identity" focuses for the first time on photographic positions of 28 women photographers from the United Kingdom and shows how the medium of photography has developed since the 1970s.

With strong themes such as social critique, migration, gender identity, community, role stereotyping and diversity, British women photographers have been campaigning for equality since the 1970s, but also for their own artistic language.

The exhibition is curated by Ralph Goertz

 

photo: Frank Vinken © Ludwiggalerie Schloss Oberhausen

IKS PHOTO becomes a member of Teo


After the huge success of the exhibition "Facing Britain - British Documentary Photography since the 1960s" at five museums in Germany and Poland, the IKS PHOTO is now part of the international touring exhibitions community Teo.


This first exhibition FACING BRITAIN, produced by the IKS and curated by Ralph Goertz, can now be booked as a touring exhibition via the international platform "teo-exhibitions".


This important step for the IKS underlines the international claim of the new photo department of the IKS to present the important topics of our time in large survey exhibitions with strong content and to sustainably promote the medium of photography.

 

Ralph Goertz as guest at the Photo Museum Ireland in Dublin


On invitation of the Photo Museum Ireland in Dublin, the director of the IKS, Ralph Goertz, met with the director Trish Lambe for a joint talk on sustainable strategies for securing and preserving artists' strategies. Individual artist talks took place as part of the event.


Many thanks to the numerous guests, the hospitality and the exciting and inspiring talk.

 

photo © Daniel Scully

 

photo © Sophie Branigan

Many thanks for the great interview

"Düsseldorf has developed insanely"

Interview by Ilona Marx

Photos by Markus Luigs

 

Representatives from various working worlds in the city of Düsseldorf were selected for the Düsseldorf Tourism website.

In her interview, journalist Ilona Marx introduces the curator Ralph Goertz - director of the IKS. Thank you very much!

 

Find the interview here

 

50,000 visitors at "Candida Höfer. Image and Space"

Collaboration with the IKS PHOTO


Around 50,000 paying visitors were recorded at the exhibition curated by Ralph Goertz (IKS) and Ludger Derenthal (SMB) "Image and Space. Candida Höfer in dialogue with the Photography Collection of the Art Library" at the Museum of Photography in Berlin.


The first cooperation between the IKS and the National Museums in Berlin was internationally acclaimed by visitors and the press. A total of 90 works by Candida Höfer entered into an artistic dialogue with 120 works from the last 150 years from the Art Library's collection - including works by Eugène Atget, Albert Renger-Patzsch, Frank Cousins, Florence Henri and Helga Paris.

We are delighted about the great cooperation and the success of the exhibition!

 

Trailer

 

© IKS-Medienarchiv

Facing Britain opens in Hanover

GAF - Gallery for Photography shows 135 works

19.10. - 27.11.2022


The brilliant picture show "Facing Britain" presents a multifaceted view of the British Isle and its social and cultural characteristics. In addition to everyday scenes that are as banal as they are curious and sympathetic, viewers are also made aware of politically explosive events: Ascot meets Belfast, the Falklands War meets intimate moments in British living rooms, hip bankers meet desperate workers. Where the boundaries of the documentary blur, aspects of artistic or portrait photography come to light.

 

The exhibition "Facing Britain", curated by Ralph Goertz, will be shown for the first time at GAF - Galerie für Fotografie after venues in Goch, Darmstadt, Goslar and Kraków.

 

© IKS-Medienarchiv

Photocity Duesseldorf #3

Three exhibits by Ralph Goertz appointed as landmark exhibitions

 

The first report commissioned by the State Capital Düsseldorf on "Duesseldorf and Photography" appointed three of my exhibitions as landmark projects in their younger history. Number three: SUBJECT and OBJECT. PHOTO RHINE RUHR (2020) at Kunsthalle Düsseldorf. Curated by Ralph Goertz with Gregor Jansen and Dana Bergmann.
Many thanks!

 

© IKS-Medienarchiv

Photocity Duesseldorf #2

Three exhibits by Ralph Goertz appointed as landmark exhibitions

 

The first report commissioned by the State Capital Düsseldorf on "Duesseldorf and Photography" appointed three of my exhibitions as landmark projects in their younger history. Number two: MARTIN PARR RETROSPECTIVE (2019) at NRW-Forum Duesseldorf. Created and curated by Ralph Goertz
Many thanks!

 

© IKS-Medienarchiv

Photocity Duesseldorf #1

Three exhibits by Ralph Goertz appointed as landmark exhibitions

 

The first report commissioned by the State Capital Düsseldorf on "Duesseldorf and Photography" appointed three of my exhibitions as landmark projects in their younger history. Number one: TWO RIVERS. JOACHIM BROHM / ALEC SOTH (2019) at NRW-Forum Duesseldorf. Created and curated by Ralph Goertz
Many thanks!

 


photo by Dirk Rose © IKS-Medienarchiv

Zobacz: Brytania opens at Museum for Photography Kraków

 

First international collaboration by IKS PHOTO

Museum für Photography Kraków

16 Jun. - 2 Oct. 2022

 

FACING BRITAIN will be presented at MuFo - Museum for Photography Kraków as the first international collaboration by the IKS PHOTO department. The show presents 204 works by 39 photographers and was curated by Ralph Goertz, head of the IKS, together with Dominik Kurylek (MuFo Kraków).

 

"The photographs presented in the exhibition show the originality of British photography and testify to the attitude of documentary filmmakers who, thanks to their exceptional ability to establish close contact with the photographed, create striking images that encourage critical but comprehensive reflection on the reality depicted."

Ewelina Bajorek-Dziuban, lovekrakow.pl

 

IKS PHOTO and Kunsthalle Darmstadt agree on cooperation
Studio Ost shows Daniel Meadows

SUBURBIA (1983-85)

9 April - 14 Aug 2022


Kunsthalle Darmstadt and IKS PHOTO have agreed to operate a joint gallery, STUDIO OST, at Kunsthalle Darmstadt. Ralph Goertz has been appointed as the chief curator responsible for the photographic programme of the regularly changing exhibitions.

The first STUDIO OST exhibition will be "Daniel Meadows - SUBURBIA" from 9 April to 14 August.


Daniel Meadows is one of the most important pioneers of documentary photography in Great Britain. His already legendary reputation is based on his Free Photographic Omnibus, Meadows' journey through England in 1973-74, during which he travelled 10,000 miles in a converted double-decker bus and photographed 958 people on the streets of 22 different British cities.

With SUBURBIA he succeeded in creating an impressive, sociological study of the milieu, which was first shown as a solo exhibition at the London Photographers' Gallery in 1987. The series was mainly shot in Bromley, the affluent London borough where the then Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher had raised her own family in the 1960s.


Two exclusive portfolios were created for the exhibition, each containing six prints from the Seirien Free Photographic Omnibus and SUBURBIA in an edition of 3+1AP. The portfolios are available at the Kunsthalle Darmstadt or at our Support/Editions.

 

Collaboration between Museum for Photography Berlin and IKS PHOTO.

 

Image and Space. CANDIDA HÖFER in Dialogue with the Photography Collection of the Kunstbibliothek

25.03.2022 to 28.08.2022
Museum für Fotografie Berlin

 

Candida Höfer explores built spaces in her photography. Her world-famous interiors focus on libraries, museums, restaurants, theaters, and other public spaces, allowing us to experience architecture in a new way. In comparison with photographic interiors from the Kunst-bibliothek's Photography Collection, which is over 150 years old, a dialogue develops between applied photography and artistic work.

With approximately 90 works, the exhibition at Berlin's Museum für Fotografie opens up a broad cross-section of Candida Höfer's photographs from 1980 to the immediate present. The long tradition of her architectural photographs, however, also extends deep into the classical canon of this field of work. In dialogue with pendants and counter-images from the Kunstbibliothek's Photography Collection, Höfer's particular approach to her pictorial motifs is revealed in a particularly impressive way.

 

photo: Isabel Hernandez © IKS-Medienarchiv

Facing Britain at Mönchehaus Museum Goslar

20 Feb - 1 May 2022

 

Michelle Sank, Kalpesh Lathigra, Sirkka-Liisa Kontinnen, Mönchehaus Museum Goslar

 

"The exhibition curated by Ralph Goertz overwhelms with its thematic diversity, strikes tones from the finest humour to the greatest dejection, shows people from the lightness of being to the search for recyclables on the rubbish dump. [...] Alongside this humorous, often to the point, contemplation of typically British idiosyncrasies, the exhibition also shows painful conditions to the point of punching in the pit of the stomach."

Jörg Kaspert, Harzer Panorama

FACING BRITAIN opens at Kunsthalle Darmstadt

4 Sept 2021 - 9 Jan 2022

 

Facing Britain, the first exhibition by the new photo department of the IKS, was opened at the Kunsthalle Darmstadt and presents with 48 participating photographers and 290 works the largest survey show on the development of british documentary photography since the 1960s. This internattional touring exhibition was curated by Ralph Goertz, head of the IKS.

 

"No fewer than 47 of these photographers are now represented with individual works or series in the show “Facing Britain” curated by Ralph Goertz in the Kunsthalle Darmstadt, which adds up to an impressive retrospective of British documentary photography from the early 1960s to 2020." Christian Riethmüller, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung

 

"An exhibition of impressive breadth [..] And just as Daniel Meadows' intense portraits add up to a picture of society, the synopsis of "Facing Britain" produces the finely differentiated, very sensually graspable picture of a country." Johannes Breckner, Echo Kultur Darmstadt

 

Ralph Goertz is appointed as a member of the DGPh

 

The director of the IKS, Ralph Goertz, has appointed as a new member of the German Society for Photography, DGPh, for his curatorial work and his support of the medium of photography. Many thanks!!

 

© Leslie Barabasch

IKS PHOTO gets off with FACING BRITAIN - British Documentary Photography since the 1960s


The promotion of the medium of photography is enshrined in the statutes of the non-profit IKS PHOTO gUG.

"FACING BRITAIN - British Documentary Photography since the 1960s" manifests the high standards and immediately presents the show, hailed as "world class" and a "landmark exhibition", in cooperation with five international partner institutions. In addition to the unique list of artists and the innovative concept of a "growing exhibition", the exhibition is distinguished above all by its diverse approach and the first-time participation of "photographers of colour".


Curated by the director of the IKS, Ralph Goertz, the exhibition serves art historians, photo enthusiasts and people of all ages alike, as it features strong themes relevant to our times: Migration, Protest, How We Are, Thatcher Era, Youth Unemployment, Diversity, Gender and Identity.

 

New Brighton. From 'The Last Resort'. 1983-85 © Martin Parr / Magnum Photos

FACING BRITAIN opens at Museum Goch

Museum Goch

27 September - 8. November 2020

 

Facing Britain was conceived as a touring exhibition and is the first survey exhibition on the development of British documentary photography since the 1960s. With a total of 230 photographic works and 28 artists, Facing Britain brings together almost all important representatives of British documentary photography and shows stars like David Hurn and Martin Parr alongside rediscovered and new positions.

 

The exhibition thus offers a unique insight into the developments in the field of photography in the United Kingdom, which are interwoven with continental Europe and North America, but also independent of them.

 

 

 

News:

The IKS has founded their own Photo department

IKS PHOTO starting 2022

Institut für
Kunstdokumentation und
Szenografie
Navigation

News:

"Changing States: Ireland" eröffnet im Haus am Kleistpark

Kooperation mit dem Photo Museum Ireland und IKS PHOTO

Changing States: Ireland in the 21st Century

Zeitgenössische Fotografie aus Irland

7. Juni – 11. August 2024

 

„Changing States: Ireland in the 21st Century“ ist die erste große Gruppenausstellung, die mit dem Medium der Fotografie den Wandel des irischen Lebens aufzeigt und sichtbar macht. Sie konzentriert sich auf die ersten Jahrzehnte des 21. Jahrhunderts, in denen sich die Gründung des Staates vor 100 Jahren jährt. Die Ausstellung im Haus am Kleistpark präsentiert 34 zeitgenössische Fotograf*innen und gibt damit erstmals einen Überblick über die Entwicklung der zeitgenössischen Fotografie in Irland.

 

Die Ausstellung entstand im Rahmen von Zeitgeist Irland 24, einer Initiative von Culture Ireland und der irischen Botschaft in Deutschland. Kuratiert von Trish Lambe, Darren Campion (Photo Museum Ireland) und Ralph Goertz (IKS PHOTO).

 

Kenneth O'Halloran, Robert Ellis, Anthony Haughey, Lorraine Tuck

 

John Duncan, Enda Bowe

WDR Westart zu bei Besuch bei UK WOMEN

 

Anke Rebbert hat der Ausstellung UK WOMEN einen wunderbaren Beitrag bei WDR Westart gewidmet. Vielen Dank!

 

Westart Beitrag

 

UK WOMEN eröffnet am 25. Mai in der Ludwiggalerie Oberhausen

UK WOMEN

Britische Fotografie zwischen Sozialkritik und Identität

28 fotografische Positionen aus dem Vereinigten Königreich

Ludwiggalerie Schloss Oberhausen

26.05. - 15.09.2024

 

Am 25. Mai um 19 Uhr eröffnet die neue Ausstellung UK WOMEN des IKS PHOTO als Kooperation mit der LUDWIGGALERIE Schloss Oberhausen und präsentiert außergewöhnliche Frauenpower aus dem Vereinigten Königreich. Mit der Ausstellung UK WOMEN wird erstmalig in Deutschland die britische Fotografie zwischen Sozialkritik und Identität mit Werken von 28 Fotografinnen aus drei Generationen präsentiert.

In einem Überblick von der klassischen Dokumentarfotografie aus den 1970er Jahren hin zu einem eigenen künstlerischen Blick und der Verarbeitung aktueller Themen wie Herkunft, Community, Genderidentität oder Sozialkritik zeigt die Ausstellung 220 Werke aus 29 Serien, kuratiert von Ralph Goertz, Leiter des IKS.

 

Ganz herzlich laden wir Sie zur Eröffnung am Samstag, den 25. Mai 2024 um 19 Uhr ein!

 

IKS zu Gast bei Kunstmuseen Krefeld

Künstlergespräch von Ralph Goertz mit Joachim Brohm

Haus Esters, Krefeld

 

Am 4.4.2024 findet um 19 Uhr ein Künstlergespräch zwischen Ralph Goertz und dem renommierten Fotokünstler Joachim Brohm in Haus Esters in Krefeld statt. Im Rahmen von "Mehr Mies: Kunstimpuls" stellt Joachim Brohm sein neues Buchprojekt LESSMORE, das in seinem Verlag BR-ED als Edition erschienen ist, vor.

 

NNG Berlin by DCA 2 © Joachim Brohm

Zwei neue Ausstellungen im Sommer 2024

Kooperationen mit der Ludwiggalerie Schloss Oberhausen, dem Haus am Kleistpark und dem Photo Museum Ireland

 

 

Das Jahr 2024 startet mit zwei Ausstellungen, die sich der zeitgenössischen Fotografie im Vereinigten Königreich und Irland widmen.

UK WOMEN. Britische Fotografie zwischen Sozialkritik und Identität zeichnet die Geschichte der Fotografie im Vereinigten Königreich seit den 1970er Jahren anhand von 28 Fotografinnen nach. Mit starken Themen wie Sozialkritik, Migration, Genderidentität, Community, Rollenklischée und Diversität setzen sie sich seit den 1970er Jahren für die Gleichberechtigung, aber auch für eine eigene künstlerische Sprache ein. Eine Kooperation mit der Ludwiggalerie Schloß Oberhausen (Eröffnung am 25. Mai 2024).

 

CHANGING STATES: Irland im 21. Jahrhundert. Zeitgenössische Fotografie aus Irland zeigt mit dem Medium der Fotografie den Wandel des irischen Lebens auf. Diese groß angelegte Ausstellung präsentiert rund 40 zeitgenössische Künstler*innen und gibt erstmals einen Überblick über die Entwicklung der zeitgenössischen Fotografie in Irland.  Eine Kooperation mit dem Berliner Haus am Kleistpark, dem Photo Museum Irland und der Irischen Botschaft in Deutschland im Rahmen von "Zeitgeist Irland24".

 

Beide Ausstellungen werden von Ralph Goertz kuratiert und zeigen die Stärken von institutionellen Kooperationen, aber auch die Universalität der politischen wie sozialen Themen in Europa auf.

Ludwiggalerie Schloss Oberhausen und IKS PHOTO gehen Kooperation ein

Erstes Ausstellungsprojekt für Mai 2024 terminiert

 

Wir sind sehr glücklich bekannt geben zu können, dass die Leiterin der Ludwiggalerie Schloss Oberhausen, Dr. Christine Vogt, und Ralph Goertz, Leiter des IKS PHOTO, eine Kooperation für 2024 vereinbart haben. Das erste gemeinsame Ausstellungsprojekt "UK WOMEN. Britische Fotografie zwischen Sozialkritik und Identität" rückt erstmals fotografische Positionen von 28 Fotografinnen aus dem Vereinigten Königreich in den Fokus und zeigt auf, wie sich das Medium der Fotografie seit den 1970er Jahren entwickelt hat.

Mit starken Themen wie Sozialkritik, Migration, Genderidentität, Community, Rollenklischée und Diversität setzen sich Britische Fotografinnen seit den 1970er Jahren für die Gleichberechtigung, aber auch für eine eigene künstlerische Sprache ein.

Kuratiert wird die Ausstellung von Ralph Goertz

 

Foto: Frank Vinken © Ludwiggalerie Schloss Oberhausen

IKS PHOTO wird Mitglied bei Teo

 

Nach dem riesigen Erfolg der Ausstellung "Facing Britain - Britische Dokumentarfotografie seit den 1960er Jahren" an fünf Museen in Deutschland und Polen, ist das IKS PHOTO jetzt Teil der internationalen touring exhibitions Gemeinschaft Teo.

 

Diese erste vom IKS produzierte und Ralph Goertz kuratierte Ausstellung FACING BRITAIN ist ab sofort als Touring-exhibition über die internationale Plattform "teo-exhibitions" buchbar.

 

Dieser für das IKS wichtige Schritt unterstreicht den internationalen Anspruch der neuen Fotoabteilung des IKS, mit wichtigen und inhaltlich starken Ausstellungen die Themen der Zeit in großen Übersichtsausstellungen zu präsentieren und nachhaltig das Medium der Fotografie zu fördern.

 

Ralph Goertz zu Gast am Photo Museum Ireland in Dublin

 

Auf Einladung des Photo Museum Ireland in Dublin traf sich der Leiter des IKS, Ralph Goertz, mit der Direktorin Trish Lambe zum gemeinsam Talk über nachhaltige Strategien zur Sicherung und Bewahrung von Künstlerstrategien. Im Rahmen des Talks fanden individuelle Künstlergespräche statt.

 

Vielen Dank an die zahlreichen Gäste, die Gastfreundlichkeit und den spannenden wie inspirierenden Talk.

 

Foto © Daniel Scully

 

Foto © Sophie Branigan

Danke für das tolle Interview

"Düsseldorf hat sich wahnsinng entwickelt"

Interview von Ilona Marx

Fotos von Markus Luigs

 

Für die Website des Düssedorf Tourismus wurden Vertreter'innen aus verschiednene Arbeitswelten der Stadt ausgewählt.

Die Journalistin Ilona Marx stellt in ihrem Interview den Kurator Ralph Goertz vor - Direktor des IKS. Vielen Dank!

 

Hier geht es zum Artikel

 

50.000 Besucher bei "Candida Höfer. Bild und Raum"

Kooperation mit dem IKS PHOTO

 

Rund 50.000 zahlende Besucher wurden in der von Ralph Goertz (IKS) und Ludger Derenthal (SMB) kuratierten Ausstellung "Bild und Raum. Candida Höfer im Dialog mit der Sammlung Fotografie der Kunstbibliothek" im Museum für Fotografie in Berlin gezählt.

 

Die erste Kooperation des IKS mit den Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin wurde von Besuchern und Presse international gefeiert. Insgesamt 90 Werke von Candida Höfer traten mit 120 Werken der letzten 150 Jahre aus der Sammlung der Kunstbibliothek - u.a. von Eugène Atget, Albert Renger-Patzsch, Frank Cousins, Florence Henri und Helga Paris - in einen künstlerischen Dialog.

Wir freuen uns über die tolle Zusammenarbeit und den Erfolg der Ausstellung!

 

Trailer

 

© IKS-Medienarchiv

Facing Britain eröffnet in Hannover

GAF - Galerie für Fotografie zeigt 135 Arbeiten

19.10. - 27.11.2022

 

Die fulminante Bilderschau »Facing Britain« zeigt einen facettenreichen Blick auf die britische Insel und ihre sozialen und kulturellen Eigenarten. Neben so banalen wie kurios-sympathischen Alltagsszenen, werden den Betrachtern auch politisch brisante Ereignisse vor Augen geführt: Ascot trifft auf Belfast, der Falkland-Krieg auf intime Momente in britischen Wohnzimmern, hippe Banker auf verzweifelte Arbeiter. Wo die Grenzen des Dokumentarischen verschwimmen, treten Aspekte der künstlerischen oder Porträt-Fotografie zu Tage.

Die von Ralph Goertz kuratierte Ausstellung »Facing Britain« wird nach Stationen in Goch, Darmstadt, Goslar und Krakau erstmals in der GAF - Galerie für Fotografie gezeigt.

 

© IKS-Medienarchiv

Fotostadt Düsseldorf #3
Drei Ausstellungen von Ralph Goertz als wegweisende Ausstellungen benannt


Der erste von der Landeshauptstadt Düsseldorf in Auftrag gegebene Bericht über "Düsseldorf und die Fotografie" hat drei meiner Ausstellungen zu Meilensteinen in ihrer jüngeren Geschichte erklärt. Nummer drei: SUBJEKT und OBJEKT. FOTO RHEIN RUHR (2020) in der Kunsthalle Düsseldorf. Kuratiert von Ralph Goertz mit Gregor Jansen und Dana Bergmann.
Herzlichen Dank!

 

© IKS-Medienarchiv

Fotostadt Düsseldorf #2
Drei Ausstellungen von Ralph Goertz als wegweisende Ausstellungen benannt


Der erste von der Landeshauptstadt Düsseldorf in Auftrag gegebene Bericht über "Düsseldorf und die Fotografie" hat drei meiner Ausstellungen zu Meilensteinen in ihrer jüngeren Geschichte erklärt. Nummer zwei: MARTIN PARR RETROSPEKTIVE (2019) im NRW-Forum Düsseldorf. Kuratiert von Ralph Goertz.
Herzlichen Dank!

 

© IKS-Medienarchiv

Fotostadt Düsseldorf #1
Drei Ausstellungen von Ralph Goertz als wegweisende Ausstellungen benannt


Der erste von der Landeshauptstadt Düsseldorf in Auftrag gegebene Bericht über "Düsseldorf und die Fotografie" hat drei meiner Ausstellungen zu Meilensteinen in ihrer jüngeren Geschichte erklärt. Nummer eins: TWO RIVERS. JOACHIM BROHM / ALEC SOTH (2019) im NRW-Forum Düsseldorf. Kuratiert von Ralph Goertz.
Herzlichen Dank!

 


Foto: Dirk Rose © IKS-Medienarchiv

Zobacz: Brytania eröffnet im Musem für Fotografie Krakau

 

Erste internationale Kooperation des IKS PHOTO

Museum für Fotografie Krakau

16.06. - 2.10.2022

 

FACING BRITAIN wird erstmals als internationale Kooperation mit dem MuFo - Museum für Fotografie in Krakau gezeigt. Kuratiert wurde die Ausstellung, die 204 Arbeiten von 39 Fotograf*innen zeigt, vom Leiter des IKS, Ralph Goertz, gemeinsam mit Dominik Kurylek (MuFo Krakow).

 

"Die in der Ausstellung präsentierten Fotografien zeigen die Originalität der britischen Fotografie und zeugen von der Haltung der Dokumentarfilmer, die dank ihrer außergewöhnlichen Fähigkeit, einen engen Kontakt zu den Fotografierten herzustellen, eindrucksvolle Bilder schaffen, die zu einem kritischen, aber umfassenden Nachdenken über die dargestellte Realität anregen."

Ewelina Bajorek-Dziuban, lovekrakow.pl

 

IKS PHOTO und Kunsthalle Darmstadt vereinbaren Kooperation

Studio Ost zeigt Daniel Meadows

SUBURBIA (1983-85)

9 April - 14 Aug 2022

 

Die Kunsthalle Darmstadt und IKS PHOTO haben sich auf den Betrieb einer gemeinsamen Galerie, dem STUDIO OST, in der Kunsthalle Darmstadt geeinigt. Für das fotografische Programm der regelmäßig stattfindenden Wechselausstellungen wurde Ralph Goertz als verantwortlicher Kurator benannt.

Als erste STUDIO OST-Ausstellung wird "Daniel Meadows - SUBURBIA" vom 9. April bis 14. August gezeigt.

 

Daniel Meadows gehört zu den wichtigsten Wegbereitern der Dokumentarfotohgrafie in Großbritannien. Sein schon legendärer Ruf gründet auf seinem Free Photographic Omnibus, Meadows' Reise durch England in den Jahren 1973-74, bei der er 10.000 Meilen in einem umgebauten Doppeldeckerbus zurücklegte und 958 Menschen auf den Straßen von 22 verschiedenen britischen Städten fotografierte.

Mit SUBURBIA gelang ihm eine beeindruckende, soziologische Milieustudie, die erstmalig 1987 in der Londoner Photographers' Gallery als Einzelausstellung gezeigt wurde. Die Serie entstand überwiegend in Bromley, dem wohlhabenden Londoner Stadtbezirk, in dem die damalige Premierministerin Margaret Thatcher in den 1960er Jahren ihre eigene Familie großgezogen hatte.

 

Zur Ausstellung entstanden zwei exklusive Portfolios mit jeweils sechs Prints aus den Seirien Free Photographic Omnibus und SUBURBIA in einer Auflage von 3+1AP. Erhältlich sind die Portfolios in der Kunsthalle Darmstadt oder hier unter Support/Editionen.

 

Kooperation zwischen Museum für Fotografie Berlin und dem IKS PHOTO

 

Bild und Raum. CANDIDA HÖFER im Dialog mit der Sammlung Fotografie der Kunstbibliothek

25.03.2022 bis 28.08.2022
Museum für Fotografie Berlin

 

Candida Höfer erforscht mit ihren Fotografien gebaute Räume. Ihre weltbekannten Interieurs nehmen Bibliotheken, Museen, Gaststätten, Theater und andere öffentlich zugängliche Orte in den Blick, lassen die Architektur neu erleben. Im Vergleich mit fotografischen Interieurs aus der über 150 Jahre alten Sammlung Fotografie der Kunstbibliothek entspinnt sich ein Dialog zwischen angewandter Fotografie und künstlerischer Arbeit.

Die Ausstellung eröffnet mit etwa 90 Werken einen breiten Querschnitt durch das Werk Candida Höfers von 1968 bis in die unmittelbare Gegenwart. Die langen Traditionslinien ihrer Architekturaufnahmen reichen jedoch auch tief in den klassischen Kanon dieses Aufgabengebiets hinein. Im Dialog mit Pendants und Gegenbildern aus der Sammlung Fotografie der Kunstbibliothek erschließt sich der besondere Zugriff Höfers auf ihre Bildmotive besonders eindrücklich.

Kuratiert wurde die Aussteelung von Ludger Derenthal und Ralph Goertz.

 

Foto: Isabel Hernandez © IKS-Medienarchiv

FACING BRITAIN im Mönchehaus Museum Goslar

20.02. - 1.05.2022

 

Michelle Sank, Kalpesh Lathigra, Sirkka-Liisa Kontinnen, Mönchehaus Museum Goslar

 

"Die von Ralph Goertz kuratierte Ausstellung überwältigt mit ihrer thematischen Vielfalt, schlägt Töne an vom feinsten Humor bis zur größten Niedergeschlagenheit, zeigt Menschen von der Leichtigkeit des Seins bis zur Wertstoffsuche auf der Müllhalde. [..] Neben dieser humorvollen, oft auf den Punkt gebrachten Betrachtung von typisch britischen Eigenheiten, zeigt die Ausstellung aber auch schmerzliche Zustände bis zum Schlag in die Magengrube."

Jörg Kaspert, Harzer Panorama

FACING BRITAIN eröffnet in der Kunsthalle Darmstadt

4. September 2021 - 9.01.2022

 

Facing Britain, die erste Ausstellung der neuen Fotoabteilung des IKS, wurde in der Kunsthalle Darmstadt eröffnet und präsentiert mit 48 Fotograf*innen und 290 Arbeiten die bislang größte Übersichtsschau zur Entwicklung der britischen Dokumentarfotografie seit den 1960er-Jahren. Kuratiert wurde die als internationale Wanderausstellung angelegte Show von Ralph Goertz, Leiter des IKS.

 

"Nicht weniger als 47 dieser Fotografinnen und Fotografen sind nun in der von Ralph Goertz kuratierten Schau .Facing Britain" in der Kunsthalle Darmstadt mit einzelnen Arbeiten oder Serien vertreten, was sich zu einer beeindruckenden Werkschau britischer Dokumentarfotografie von den frühen Sechzigerjahren bis zum Jahr 2020 fügt." Christian Riethmüller, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung

 

„Eine Ausstellung von beeindruckender Breite [..] Und so, wie sich die intensiven Porträts von Daniel Meadows zum Gesellschaftsbild summieren, ergibt die Zusammenschau von „Facing Britain“ das fein ausdifferenzierte, sehr sinnlich erfassbare Bild eines Landes.“ Johannes Breckner, Echo Kultur Darmstadt

 

Ralph Goertz zum Mitglied der DGPh ernannt

 

Der Leiter des IKS, Ralph Goertz, wurde von der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Photographie (DGPh) für seine kuratorische Arbeit und Förderung des Mediums der Fotografie zum ordentlichen Mitglied ernannt. Vielen Dank!

 

© Leslie Barabasch

IKS PHOTO startet mit FACING BRITAIN - Britische Dokumentarfotografie seit den 1960er Jahren

 

Die Förderung des Mediums der Fotografie ist in den Statuten der gemeinnützigen IKS PHOTO gUG festgeschrieben.

"FACING BRITAIN - Britische Doumentarfotografie seit den 1960er Jahren" manifestiert den hohen Anspruch und zeigt auf Anhieb die als "Weltklasse" und "landmark exhibition" bejubelte Schau in Kooperation mit fünf internationaeln Partnerinstitutionen. Neben der einzigartigen Künstlerliste und dem innovativen Konzept einer "wachsenden Ausstellung", zeichnet die Ausstellung vor allem der diverse Ansatz und die erstmalige Teilnahme von "photographers of color" aus.

 

Die vom Leiter des IKS, Ralph Goertz, kuratierte Ausstellung bedient Kunsthistoriker, Fotoenthusiasten und Menschen jeden Alters gleichermaßen, da sie mit starken und für unsere Zeit relevanten Themen aufwartet: Migration, Protest, How We Are, Thatcher-Era, Jugendarbeitslosigkeit, Diversität, Gender und Identität.

 

New Brighton. From 'The Last Resort'. 1983-85 © Martin Parr / Magnum Photos

FACING BRITAIN eröffnet im Museum Goch

Museum Goch

27. September - 8. November 2020

 

Facing Britain wurde als Touring Exhibition konzipiert und ist die erste Übersichtsausstellung zur Entwicklung der Britischen Dokumentarfotografie seit den 1960er Jahren. Mit insgesamt 230 Fotoarbeiten und 28 Künstler*Innen vereint Facing Britain nahezu alle wichtigen Vertreter*Innen der Britischen Dokumentarfotografie und zeigt Weltstars wir David Hurn und Martin Parr neben wiederentdeckten und neuen Positionen.

 

Die Ausstellung bietet einen einzigartigen Einblick in die mit Kontinentaleuropa und Nordamerika verflochtenen, aber auch unabhängigen Entwicklungen auf dem Feld der Fotografie im Vereinigten Königreich.

 

News:

IKS gründet eigene Fotoabteilung

IKS PHOTO startet ab 2022